Monaco GP qualifying - A Controversial Pole

Nico Rosberg took pole position for Sunday's Monaco Grand Prix however his accident on his final lap bought out the yellow flags and ensured that Hamilton could not better his time. Despite cries of this being a deliberate act, akin to Schumacher's infamous Rascasse parking incident in 2006, the stewards decided that this was merely an error under pressure and not cause for any punishment.

The German took pole on his first flying lap in the Q3 session with his team mate only managing second place on the first run. Hamilton was clearly unimpressed with his team mates 'accident' and cut a very glum figure whilst talking to the media. He made his feelings very clear that he thought this was no accident and made his frustration known.

Australian Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo continued his impressive form by beating his team mate to third on the grid, however he too was unhappy as he felt he could have at least split the Mercedes runners.

Continuing the two-by-two theme at the front, the Ferrari's line up 5th and 6th with Alonso once again taking the honours.

The two Toro Rosso's again made the top ten, split however by impressive rookie Kevin Magnussen who's British World Champion McLaren team-mate only managed 12th place.

Force India also continued their strong showing with Perez beating Hulkenberg into the top 10 shoot-out.

Full Results:

1Nico RosbergMercedes1:17.6781:16.4651:15.989
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:17.8231:16.3541:16.048
3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:17.9001:17.2331:16.384
4Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:18.3831:17.0741:16.547
5Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:17.8531:17.2001:16.686
6Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:17.9021:17.3981:17.389
7Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:17.5571:17.6571:17.540
8Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:17.9781:17.6091:17.555
9Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:18.6161:17.5941:18.090
10Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:18.1081:17.7551:18.327
11Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:18.4321:17.846
12Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:17.8901:17.988
13Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:18.4071:18.082
14Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:18.3351:18.196
15Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:18.5851:18.356
16Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:18.209No time
17Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:18.741
18Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:18.745
19Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:19.332
20Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:19.928
21Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:20.133
22Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:21.732